The Breitling Watch Source Forums

Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 5:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:19 pm 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie

Liked in: 0 post
Hi everyone! I'm very new at this, but here goes! I have two Breitling watches from my Great-Uncle and Grandfather and I have not been able to i.d. my Uncle's. Under the Breitling on the face it says 'Anti-Choc'. Any ideas?

Thank you!

John

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:15 pm 
King of Ling
King of Ling

Wow... it seems Breitling was THE brand of choice for many people back in the day... Quite a few members with a lot of inquiries regarding watches handed down from uncles and grandfathers...

Regarding your inquiry, someone will come along and help you out shortly... but personally, don't know any reference to a anti-choc, you sure it's not antishock? and a picture of a movement is always helpful... looks something from the 40's though...

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:14 am 
Contributing Moderator
Contributing Moderator

Liked in: 489 posts
The dial picture isn't that clear, but I don't see any immediate problems. The serial number is pre-1944, which could be OK on this watch. The caseback looks a little odd, but that may simply be because it's older. I think (emphasise think) that anti-choc is simply french for anti-shock and Incabloc dates back to the 30s so that is OK.

I don't know 790 off the top of my head so need to check, and I would like to see the movement to be sure.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:44 pm 
Breitling Newbie
Breitling Newbie