Breitling Watch Information Forums, Navitimer, Chronomat
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 4:37 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Navitimer question
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:35 am 
Breitling Connoisseur
Breitling Connoisseur

Liked in: 0 post
As previously explained on this forum, I'm new to Breitling, and I have a question regarding the Navitimer series.

When I was looking around for a new watch, I wasn't 100% decided on a particular model, but had a penchant for the Navitimer - until it was explained to me by a vendor that this model simply is not waterproof.

When I say waterproof, I mean that I can't go for a swim wearing one, or have a shower - is this information correct?

Grateful for your comments...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 7:48 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Liked in: 18 posts
The Breitling Navitimer has been water resistant since 1993, but only to 30m (or 3Bar). This does not mean the watch is good to go 30m into the water, but that it is okay to wash your hands while wearing it, and will be safe from rain and is essentially splash proof. You cannot swim, nor take a shower with it. A watch needs about a 100m rating before you can do that. Never was sure why the ratings are like that.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 10:09 am 
Breitling Connoisseur
Breitling Connoisseur

Thank you for that - I realise that having used a Submariner for so long I'm a little biased - for me an absolute fundamental for a watch is for it to be waterproof (swim proof, shower proof - whatever) which is obviously why I've just invested in a watch with a crocodile strap...!!!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:17 pm 
Breitling Connoisseur
Breitling Connoisseur